Oct 31, 2014,

Arrived in ABC (Annapurna base camp). Ascended over 1000m above 3000m today and luckily have been feeling fine. Gotta thank the Spanish guys for encouraging me to do it. Had a beautiful sunset. Met them at MBC (Machhapuchhre base camp) Serious mountaineers, they left Himalaya village at 6:15am and got to ABC at 9:30am, spent some time there and already back to MBC by 11am. They definitely don’t have the fanciest gears. No camelbak just plastic bottle hooked to the side.

It’s cold here. I have most of my layers on. Rented 2 more layers in Deurali and I think I’ll make it. The warmth of tea/hot pouch only lasts 1/3 here (time-wise) compared to at Himalaya. Not sure why but been so sleepy even before noon.

I really liked talking with the 2 Spanish guys at MBC and here in ABC met another 2 Spanish (turned out they were the ones that refused to sleep together on the double bed that Emily and I snatched in the end yesterday).

Man it’s just past 6pm and my eyes already so heavy.

fall foliage, Himalaya, Deurali, walking to MBC, Machhapuchhre, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

reminds me of New England fall

waterfall, Himalaya, Deurali, walking to Machhapuchhre, MBC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek,

waterfall, tall cliff, Deurali, walking to MBC, Machhapuchhre, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

The trail opens up after Deurali. This is my favorite part. Started seeing snow on the mountains right next to the trail I walked. And after MBC it is like tundra, with snow still on the ground. First time I’ve seen such scenery, like Alaska though I’ve never been there.

Deurali, valley, walking to MBC, Machhapuchhre, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

Deurali, valley, walking to MBC, Machhapuchhre, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

tundra-like, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

fog, snow-capped mountains, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

Left MBC at past 12:30pm after lunch. The fog kept rolling in and sometimes opened up to reveal the imposing insurmountable summit of Fishtail. So ngạo nghễ: Here I am and I challenge you mortal beings. I walked really slow and steady and focused on my breathing ’cause I was worried about getting altitude sickness. Saw people work to make the trail up here! Fog was quite heavy by the time I got to top, and from the sign couldn’t even see the guest houses. Got a room easily unlike the night before.

Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

humor on the trail

kids making snow man, tundra-like, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

ice-man?

tundra-like, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

workers making trail, tundra-like, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

trail workers at 4000m

trail worker, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

tundra-like, foggy trail, Machhapuchhre, MBC, walking to ABC, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

Annapurna base camp, ABC trek, Annapurna sanctuary, welcome sign

4130m

Fog thickened, could only see about 10m from the dining hall’s window. White snow covered boulders, and black birds that look like crows.

And then suddenly around 5pm, pouf! all the fog gone. The sky was blue and I could see why the Spanish guys encouraged me to go up and spend the night. We’re in an amphitheater surrounded 360degrees by mountains, snow-capped summits. I cannot describe in words. And luckily not too crowded/noisy here, but too cold to stay outside to admire and contemplate. Halucinante! Have never seen these beauties so close up and personal before. The world is so beautiful and I’m in love! The sunset lit up Fishtail first in a yellow glow, and then an orange burn. I’m so happy to be here. Can’t wait to see the sunrise tomorrow, but of course first have to survive tonight.

sunset, Fish Tail, Machhapuchhre, base camp, Annapurna Sanctuary, ABC trek

Fish Tail (Machhapuchhre) from dining hall

