Phu Quoc, South Vietnam

Typhoon, storm, rain, flood, 2 months in the central coast. I was so sick of wading through puddles, getting splashed on by trucks, walking around in wet shoes and damp clothes. Sunshine, here I come.

I rented a scooter from the airport right after landing. VND 120k/day for a manual. No paperwork needed. The guy asked me to keep an eye on the helmet as bikes are less likely to get stolen than helmets here.

Sleepy town. Empty beaches. Friendly folks. Reminds me a lot of Nha Trang 10 years ago. Even better, it’s an island. That said, lots of construction: hotels, resorts, roads, signalling the fast coming changes. But for now, the roads are still a nightmare. Bumpy, muddy dirt paths, even washed out. My ass wasn’t happy.

Phú Quốc, Việt Nam

Long Beach, Phú Quốc, Việt Nam

Phú Quốc, Việt nam

suối Mơ, Phú Quốc, Việt Nam

I spent 3 days on the beach, 2 days hiking streams and waterfalls, and 2 days scuba diving! It was my first time diving. As I don’t have a certificate yet, I went tandem with an instructor; all I had to do was to breath regularly and equalize my ears. The underwater world here honestly didn’t wow me as I’ve seen much more colorful and pristine in Hawai’i. But just floating there among the fish was so calming and meditative. I looked, I observed, I marveled. But I could not speak, nor could anyone speak to me, not in any human languages. It was a world where I was insignificant. Maybe what happens on earth is that drowned in our own sounds, we forget about our insignificance. We are loud, and that makes us think that we matter and have power.

