A note on long distance relationships written by an Indian woman living in the US was making its round among my circles. It certainly rings a chord, but I lack the strength and the conviction that she and so many other have within themselves.

Right this moment, 100% of my relationships are managed long distance: emails, phone calls, Skype video calls, Viber and Whatsapp texts.  In many cases, it’s compounded long-distance, for lack of better word. We who move around tend to bump into people that also jump places.

In 2010, I talked about the woe of traveling, not knowing what to do when I feel a spark that my realistic pessimism say wouldn’t stand against geography. 3 years later, I am not not running away anymore, but still have one foot at the door.

The hardest part is the lack of those micro moments that seem so insignificant but whose absence amplifies and intensifies the emptiness. A brief look into the eyes, a soft touch on the hand, an accidental brush of the hair… In those split seconds, we verify and can assure ourselves again of our unspoken bond.

But the hardest is not the worst. The worst is you can’t be there when needed. When that person is broken and you know just being there, being able to hold hand and give a hug would mean so much more than the dozens of texts and calls, more than all the words of support and encouragement you can utter. The first time I realized this, and not one, but two people need me to be there.

