My Khe beach

My Khe beach

6 months. Time flies. I almost forgot that ocean breeze that lightly caressed my skin and ruffled my hair, tempting me with the salty smell of the ocean.

I lucked out and found a nice furnished one bed-room apartment on Son Tra peninsula, close enough to the city center, and more importantly not far from the empty beaches. Have been dying to go surf, but no luck in finding a board rental shop. And it looks really flat these days; keep crossing my fingers that it will pick up a little bit during my 3 months here.

Even though I’m living in a rented room and off of a 50lb-suitcase, for the first time since I moved back to Vietnam, I felt like I have a place to call mine again. The bed is mine, the balcony is mine. I can leave my bag on the floor, my sunglasses on the table. The whole space is mine and no one’s here for me to inconvenience. The landlady’s employee who lives downstairs asked me twice in 2 days if I was bored by myself and I sincerely said no. I get to see and talk with plenty of people throughout the day, and it’s relieving to go back and pamper myself in quietness, talking only in my head, deciding the order of my evening, not having to ask anyone questions or answer anyone’s questions. The luxurious solitude.

